Skip to main content

Unpublish and delete products in bulk

As a Marketplace Manager, you can unpublish or permanently delete multiple catalog products at once using the Unpublish / Delete Products workflow in the Product Uploader new experience. Use a CSV file to identify the products you want to remove instead of processing them one at a time in the Staging Catalog.

❗ Important: The Unpublish / Delete Products workflow is available only in the Product Uploader new experience. It is not available in the legacy Product Uploader interface.

Unpublish vs delete​

OperationResult
UnpublishRemoves selected products from the Production Catalog. If there are subscriptions against the product it remains in Staging Catalog with Published status. If there are no subscriptions against the product the status is updated to Unpublished.
DeletePermanently removes selected products from both the Production Catalog and the Staging Catalog. Deleted products cannot be recovered.

Constraints

  • Unpublish: A product that is not in the Production Catalog cannot be unpublished.
  • Delete: Products with active subscriptions cannot be deleted.

For single-product unpublish and delete procedures in the Staging Catalog UI, see Unpublish products and Delete products.

Unpublish or delete products in bulk​

To unpublish or delete products in bulk

  1. Log in to your AppDirect marketplace.

  2. Navigate to Products > CATALOG | Product uploader.

  3. The new Product Uploader page opens by default for enabled marketplaces. If you are in the legacy experience, click Switch to New Experience.

  4. On the Product Uploader home page, click the Unpublish / Delete Products tile.

  5. Complete the following steps:

    Download and prepare your file
    1. On the Configure template step, set the required filters to narrow down the product selection. To target specific products, use the Product Reference ID filter to paste up to 500 IDs or upload a CSV file with a Product Reference ID column.
    2. Click Download to save the filtered CSV or ZIP file, a new entry is created in the Activity Log indicating the progress of the download.

      πŸ“ Note: The file format is downloaded based on the workflow and section selected for download.

    3. To download your CSV/ZIP file, click Go to Activity Log (you can also copy the Request ID of the download to search the activity in the Activity Log).
    4. The Activity Log page opens, expand the required activity row. The expanded section displays the total number of products that are in the file, number of products successfully downloaded and the number of products failed to be downloaded.
    5. Click the download icon for Products Successfully Downloaded. This file contains the information about the successfully downloaded products. πŸ“ Note: If there are any errors in downloading, you can view the error file by clicking the download icon for Products Failed to Be Downloaded.For details on the Activity Log, see Review results through activity logs.
    6. Open the downloaded file and keep only the rows for the products you want to unpublish or delete. Remove all other rows.
    7. Navigate to the Configure template step.
    8. Click Next to go to the upload step.
    Upload your file and validate data
    1. Click Upload File.
    2. Add your file by dragging it into the upload area, or click Upload File and browse to the CSV or ZIP file you prepared.
    3. The details of the uploaded file displays in a table format, you can select to display and review All prodcuts, or the Ready to upload products, or the products with errors.

      πŸ“ Note: The system automatically validates your file. Validation includes:

      • Data types: Ensures correct data types (numbers, dates, and son)
      • Required fields: Checks mandatory fields, missing values, and datatype errors
      • References: Verifies that referenced records exist where the template requires valid references

    4. Review any errors or warnings displayed.
    5. Fix issues and click Upload a New File to re-upload the corrected file if necessary.
    6. You can also download the error report for failed rows, to do so click Download report use it to correct the file and upload again.
  6. Click Unpublish or Delete based on the action you want to take.

    • If you select Unpublish, a confirmation dialog box appears, click Unpublish to unpublish the selected products from the Production catalog.

    • If you select Delete, a warning confirmation box appears type Confirm in the text field to proceed.

      ⚠️ Warning: Proceeding with the Delete option will delete all valid entries from both the Production Catalog and the Staging Catalog.

  7. When the workflow completes, on the Confirmation and Tracking tab note the request ID. Click Go to Activity Log or open Activity log from the home page to monitor progress, confirm success, or review partial failures. If the UI offers an error report download for the batch, use it to fix remaining rows and run the workflow again if needed. For details on reviewing request, success, and failure files in the Activity Log, see Review results through activity logs.

Was this page helpful?